Weekly Book Reviews

I’m excited to announce that I will be writing a new weekly segment called, Bringing Up Books. Every Wednesday I plan to post a review of one or two books and rate them. Hopefully, I will bring up books you have not heard of or were debating on whether or not to read. Now, I think I was a little over excited about this new dedication because I wanted to give you guys something for today that will relate to the upcoming post for tomorrow and every following Wednesday. What follows is a list of my favorite books – because, like most fans of books or anything, I can not simply choose one favorite. When someone asks me what my favorite book is I respond, “well, what genre” or “by which author.” So here are my favorite books in different categories:

  • Mystery………………..And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
  • Thriller…………..The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
  • Horror………………………………….Perfume by Patrick Suskind
  • Sci-Fi…………………………………….Dark Tower Series by Steven King
  • Graphic Novel………………………Wallflower by Tomoko Hayakawa
  • Romance………………………………Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • Children’s…………………….Where the Red fern Grows by Wilson Rawls
  • Young Adult…………………………The Host by Stephanie Meyer
  • Dr. Seuss……………………………….Fox in Socks by Dr. Seuss
  • Pirate……………………………………Pirate Latitudes by Michael Crichton
  • Short Story Collection………….Full Dark No Stars by Steven King

So there you guys go, a (small) glimpse into my favorite books – I’m sure by the time tomorrow comes I will have thought of different ones I wish I had used instead or in addition -haha.

Comment with your favorite book or any ideas for future Bring Up Books reviews, I would love to know. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Weekly Book Reviews

  1. My favorite books are the Harry Potter series. Her writing style has had a huge influence on my own writing. I also like the Prophecy of the Sisters series by Michelle Zink. Fairy Tales have also been a huge influence on me. Yes, the classics like Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty, but I love to read the lesser known fairy tales. Shakespeare too, of course. Oh, and Pride and Prejudice is one of my favorites too (I have a crush on Darcy!) I like to read non-fiction stuff sometimes too, but mostly about psychology. The way people’s minds work definitely influence my writing.

    • The Prophecy of the Sisters is on my list to read, I’m making my way to it lol. I love fairy tales, I have the complete collections of Hans-Christian Anderson and the Grimm fairy tales, they are amazing.

      Darcy is one of the best literary characters ever 🙂 and psychology is a great thing for writers to read and study, I’m sure it helps develop deeper characters who have a lot more going on than just what’s on the page and that depth carries through subtle but strong.

      • If you like Harry Potter, you’ll like Prophecy of the Sisters. And the author is so nice, answers your questions and everything. In addition to what you said, psychology also helps me write characters that think a lot different than I do.

Leave a Reply

