Bringing Up Books: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

For tonight’s Bringing Up Books, I chose the to review Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. My friend’s daughter is having her first birthday this weekend and the theme for her party is Alice in Wonderland, so I’ve been around and a bit in the rabbit hole lately.

Lewis Carroll wrote this fantastical story in 1865. It revolves around the imaginative, quizzical girl and her adventures in the very peculiar world called Wonderland. The story begins with Alice sitting with her sister on a riverbank, when she sees and decides to follow a white rabbit. By curiosity Alice falls down into the rabbit hole and into Wonderland where she meets increasingly strange and stranger characters. Her adventures often deal with ideas of logic and identity and a persons imagination. At the end the reader(and Alice) is left to wonder whether it was a dream or if Wonderland exists. Either way, her adventures still changed her.

As a child, I watched the Disney adaptation of Alice in Wonderland and I hated it. I still don’t care for it, however, in college I read the children’s book for the first time. I thought it was great. It’s a story that appeals to both children and adults. Entertaining with just enough absurdity to get children’s imaginations streaming and enough logic and word play to keep adults laughing. I particularly connected with the ideas of identity, realizing who are, standing by that and living up to it.

3 thoughts on “Bringing Up Books: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

  1. I love the idea of an Alice in Wonderland themed party! I may have to steal this for my future kids. What did you think of Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland?

    • Yeah the party is going to be so cute, everyone is bringing a stuffed animal, all the food is tea party friendly and there are mushroom cupcake stands… It will be adorable. Plus the host gets to be Mad Hatter! I really like Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland, but I’m a big Burton fan anyways lol. The story was done well and I liked the actress who played Alice. The scenery was amazing, and I loved how they showed the connection between the people in Alice’s life and the characters in Wonderland.

      • I love Tim Burton stuff too. Burtons are just generally awesome though lol. I love the costumes in Alice in Wonderland too! I really liked how they did the ending too. It’s a classic fairy tale that adults can enjoy too!

Leave a Reply

