Bringing Up Books: Needful Things

Needful Things by Stephen KingNeedful Things

Regrettably, my weekend was spent attending my sick puppy, so that long weekend I had planned on dedicating to knockout a book from the poll I posted on Friday (if the choice was other, which it was) was not quite as free as I had planned. So, I will be posting a review shortly for The Prophecy of the Sisters. I am excited to read and review this book as it has been suggested to me several times and the concept seems interesting. For this week, I settled on the runner up, Needful Things. A book I read for the first time only weeks ago, although it has been on my shelf for years.

Another Stephen King novel, but this one is much more synonymous with the assumptions you may attach to what King will bring forth. Needful Things centers on the famous town of Castle Rock, it’s new inhabitant, Leland Gaunt with his new shop, Needful Things. The shop owner is a man of mystery. He sells people items they “need,” but he does not barter for money. Instead, he deals in deeds. A favor for the item, but he does not tell them initially what the favor is or when he needs it done. With numerous characters and a large set up, this book takes off when the deeds start piling up and the blood begins to pour out of the pages. Gaunt sets out to pit the towns people against each other and then light them all up.

It’s hard to really choose a favorite King novel, but I have to go with this one, maybe it’s just the freshness, but I don’t think so. It’s evil and gripping and will keep you reading and wanting more. Yet I found that I was satisfied by the end. I think it is rare to find a book that you really love and connect to the characters and yet by the end feel complete.

13 thoughts on “Bringing Up Books: Needful Things

  1. thelonefigure says:

    I absolutely adore Stephen King! Maybe this will be my next read! Could you recommend any more books written by Stephen King that are your personal favorites? 🙂

    • Of course! Before I read Needful Things my favorite was Full Dark, No Stars, a scary-short story collection. I highly recommend that one. If you like the short stories, another volume that is particularly good is Everything’s Eventual. If you have patience to read the Dark Tower series’s, those are really good, or there is the graphic novel version, a much shorter read. More on the drama side, the Green Mile is great. Also, a lot of people did not like the Dreamcatcher movie, but I read the book and although it’s definitely not my favorite, it’s interesting.

      I hope you like these as much as I do and thanks for reading! 🙂

  2. Bridget says:

    Oh man, I love SK, but this one REALLY freaked me out. I rank it right up there with Pet Sematary and Misery–two books that, while I enjoyed, I don’t think I could read again without scaring my own pants off! Although I suppose they’re less outright scary than just truly disturbing.

    • I agree, they are disturbing rather than scary, but disturbing has a much more significant effect on me than something that is just scary. Books that are disturbing or have a character that is truly disturbed are much scarier in a sense.

Leave a Reply

