Movies and DNA

Alright! Well, I am going to go see possibly 2 movies this weekend and they both fit the theme of Sci-Friday! So what follows is my idea of what these movies will be like.

Mama
Synopsis from IMDB:
Annabel and Lucas are faced with the challenge of raising his young nieces that were left alone in the forest for 5 years… But how alone were they?

Predictions: I don’t think this movie will have lingering scares, haunting my dreams after, but what I think this movie will bring is a solid story compounded by good acting, not often found attached to horrors. And, of course, jumping, quick scares.

Predicted Rating: 8/10

Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters
Synopsis from IMDB:

In this spin on the fairy tale, Hansel and Gretel are now bounty hunters who track and kill witches all over the world. As the fabled Blood Moon approaches, the siblings encounter a new form of evil that might hold a secret to their past.

Predictions: I think this movie will be basically The Brothers Grimm all over again- granted I really liked that movie so it won’t be bad, just nothing really new. Plus, I’m not a big Jeremy Renner fan. Maybe my hang up stems from the first season of Faceoff, where this guy put together a Hansel and Gretel scene with this grungy, industrial feel. So when I heard of the Hansel and Gretel movie plans I had this whole image born from that guys creation. Upon seeing the Van Helsing/ Brothers Grimm reality of it, I may have been let down.

Predicted Rating: 7/10

And for you all to enjoy, and article from science daily (from 2010)-plus, it’s movie related!

SCIENCE

Leave a Reply

