Createspace and the Non-Existent Graphs

Alright people, I need help. I have been working on my Zombie Guide and I decided to do a test upload in Createspace. I figured I could see, realistically, how many pages I am looking at thus far and see how my graphs turned out.

Well, when I uploaded the file none of my graphs were visible and I do not understand why.

Now, I’ve put up a question on the Createspace community board to see if anyone will direct me to the best guide or give me a step by step, so if I get any answers there I will make sure to supply them here as well.

Here was my process.

I created my graphs using Excel. Once they were how I liked them, I copy and pasted them to my MS Word main book document. I inserted them into the sections I wanted them to be viewed, breaking up the text in several chapters.

I was reading about several people using Photoshop or saving their graphs as .jpegs (and other various image document file types). I work using Gimp, which is basically the same as Photoshop, but free. I don’t suspect the program will make a difference as long as I can save it to the appropriate file type.

Others talked about how they did use Excel to create the graphs, but maybe I’m missing a step when I export them to my Word doc.

My next attempt will be to save the excel graph as an image file and then insert it in my Word document.

I will let you know how that turns out.

If anyone has any experience with graphs in their self-published works and can offer tips – I am completely open to ideas. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Createspace and the Non-Existent Graphs

  1. Dan Harris says:

    Hmm. I’ve never uploaded a Word doc direct to Createspace, I’ve always turned it into a PDF first. Have you tried that? It might embed the images in the document more firmly, so they stick 🙂

    In recent versions of Word you can just do Save as -> PDF to do this.

    Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

